Testimonials

Canyon Grove Academy

588 West 3300 North, Pleasant Grove

4.4 76 reviews

  • Avatar Breanne Wolverton ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    Canyon Grove Distance Education has been amazing! It is the perfect fit for homeschooling while still experiencing a classroom and social setting. My kids don't … read more want school to end when summer comes around.
  • Avatar Dahlee Johansen ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    I have three students who attend the Canyon Grove Distance Learning Program. We’ve been with them since their first year, 3 years ago and love the Epic day, Discovery … read more Day, discounted or free field trips and the other activities that are available. My kids made friends and learned lots of new and interesting things. We appreciate the support we’ve been offered as far as making the learning process personalized, the help with curriculum purchases and the friendships that we formed over the years. The staff feel more like family than acquaintances. If you’re looking for a happy medium between homeschooling and traditional, CGA is your answer.
  • Avatar Krystal Mulder ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    I love this school! We do the distance education program and they do all the history lessons plus they have a curriculum library so that you have access to a bunch … read more of different curriculum to see can what works for you family. They have fun family activities throughout the year and they plan field trips and well.
  • Avatar Katie A Little Pinch of Perfect ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    We love the homeschool distance education program. The curriculum is so helpful because we can try and use it without purchasing it before hand (which is so costly) … read more and the kids come home with new knowledge from their one day a week on campus class time. They love Miss Denya (kindergarten)!
  • Avatar Amy Stoddard ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    I love this school. My 6th grade son has ADHD and was so severely bullied at his public school by his peers and the staff that I finally took him out and did the … read more distance education through Canyon Grove. It was perfect for what we needed at the time. But half way through the year he felt ready to go back to school and so we enrolled him into their 6th grade class. His teacher was so kind and amazing and a great teacher. The staff at the school is amazing also, everyone there seems to really want what's best for the children. I was terrified to send him back, but he's doing amazing and he's caught up from a 4th grade level to testing into the ALL program at the junior high. Another bonus is they have the space center there, they do a lot of hands on learning, and they have their own busses and go on a lot of field trips. I plan on sending my 4 year old there for kindergarten. We will always be grateful to this school, they're changed my son's life.

Our Reviews on Google

We have loved working with Canyon Grove Academy this past year. My favorite part is the resource library for the distance ed homeschooling program, where they have a variety of awesome curricula to choose from, tailoring it for each child’s needs and learning styles. Plus extra curricular materials that can be checked out for as long as needed. The Educational Specialists assigned to each family in the program are so helpful and supportive! And we have enjoyed the Epic Day and Discovery Day programs as well! This is a phenomenal school to support homeschoolers!
Maren JohnsonGoogle Review
This is our son’s first year and it has been so incredible for him. He really struggled with the large class sizes and lack of attention at the local public school. At Canyon Grove he is able to do much more hands-on learning and it suits him so much better. They do frequent field trips and spend time at the space center which he loves. I am so grateful for the thoughtful school leadership that saw the potential in our son and had patience with him as he matured into the excellent student he is today.
Eric HeathGoogle Review (Local Guide)

Canyon Grove Distance Education is wonderful! For those families who want the flexibility homeschooling offers with the educational support, fun outings, and activities you may not have time to offer your children this hybrid system is an excellent option! Class is once a week with an option to sign up for fun outings (Discovery Days) once a week as well. Discovery Days change every month to make things new and exciting for the kids to experience. In the past such outings have included: ice skating, indoor rock climbing, snow shoeing, indoor trampolines, book binding, martial arts, Discovery Space Center, programing, and more!

Ruth LoweGoogle Review (Local Guide)
Amber Jensen

A HUGE shout out to this inspired Distance Education program!  This inspired program has made it possible for us to take the huge leap of faith to  Distance Education this year! We are extremely grateful for all the support and amazing resources Kim Goates and her incredible team provide!  Kim knows parents know best what their children need to learn, and she provides the support and resources we need to succeed! They also facilitate fabulous field trips! We are truly grateful for this inspired program! It is fluid and shifts based on the needs of our children and the families involved. We are immensely blessed and so grateful to be a part of this amazing program!his program is exactly what I had been looking for in my children’s schooling experience. I love the balance it gives me and my family as we get to learn so much together both at home and on the wonderful family field trips set up through the Distance Program.  This program also allows me to provide one on one time so my kids can learn at their own speed and discover things that interest them.  I love the small weekly classrooms with hands-on learning. It is wonderful to be able to teach using the abundance of resources and know my kids are learning everything they need to learn.

Amber JensenParent
Brindie Bishop

This past year has been a great experience. The distance program has provided the perfect balance for our family.  My children have learned some amazing and interesting things with their teachers at school, while still allowing me to guide their education and be with them a good portion of the week. The program has also planned many great field trips that I have brought all 6 of my children to for a reasonable price and very little planning on my part. Thank you,  distance program!

Brindie BishopParent
Lauralee Altice

When we found out we were moving Utah last year I was really nervous about feeling isolated with homeschooling. We were living in Texas where we had a large homeschool support group that we loved so much didn’t want to move away. Before we moved or knew exactly where were going to live I started researching homeschool Facebook groups in Utah and was hoping to find people we could become friends with and do actives with. Never did I imagine we would have found something as incredible as the Distance Program. When I found the program I told my husband I sure hope we get to move to the northern Utah County area because I had signed our kids up for a Distance program. The Distance program has far exceeded all of my expectations (all of our Texas homeschool friends are now jealous). The staff is amazing and have worked so well with my kids. I recommend the program to everyone I talk to. My kids love going to Epic Day each week and have learned so much!

Lauralee AlticeParent
Becca Crookston

The Distance Program has been a great experience for our family.  I have been slowly transitioning to doing Distance Education with my kids full time.  It was nice to have 3 days with them at home and two days with them in class.  I loved the ability to go to the resource library and change curriculum when it wasn’t working for us and all the extras that are there too.  We moved with 2 months left in the school year.  We loved this program so much that we chose to drive all the way from Mount Pleasant to finish off the school year.  My boys also loved going to the space center once a month.

Becca CrookstonParent
Sarah Johnson

My daughter was just showing her younger siblings the lapbooks she made about the Constitution and Frederick Douglass and teaching them everything she learned. What a neat project! I’m thankful for all that you teachers, administrators, and helpers are doing. I’ve been homeschooling for 8 years and discovering this Distance Education program that comes alongside you to help you accomplish your goals is such a blessing.

Sarah JohnsonParent
I have three students who attend the Canyon Grove Distance Learning Program. We’ve been with them since their first year, 3 years ago and love the Epic day, Discovery Day, discounted or free field trips and the other activities that are available. My kids made friends and learned lots of new and interesting things. We appreciate the support we’ve been offered as far as making the learning process personalized, the help with curriculum purchases and the friendships that we formed over the years. The staff feel more like family than acquaintances. If you’re looking for a happy medium between homeschooling and traditional, CGA is your answer.
Dahlee Johansen

We’ve had such a wonderful experience with the Canyon Grove distance education program. We’ve had access to so many great resources-curriculum, online subscriptions, fun school programs and activities. The most important thing to me, however, is that we’ve been able to maintain a lot of independence and I’ve felt like the educational decisions I’ve made for my children have been respected. For example, my kids have been late readers and I’m ok with that. The school offered reading assistance but was respectful and understanding when I declined. My kids have loved discovery days. It’s well organized and always fun!

Whitney King

I love this school. My 6th grade son has ADHD and was so severely bullied at his public school by his peers and the staff that I finally took him out and did the distance education through Canyon Grove. It was perfect for what we needed at the time. But half way through the year he felt ready to go back to school and so we enrolled him into their 6th grade class. His teacher was so kind and amazing and a great teacher. The staff at the school is amazing also, everyone there seems to really want what’s best for the children. I was terrified to send him back, but he’s doing amazing and he’s caught up from a 4th grade level to testing into the ALL program at the junior high. Another bonus is they have the space center there, they do a lot of hands on learning, and they have their own busses and go on a lot of field trips. I plan on sending my 4 year old there for kindergarten. We will always be grateful to this school, they’re changed my son’s life.

Amy Stoddard

I’m a homeschooler, and I’ve been very grateful for this charter schools impressive distance education program. My kids are able to attend school one day a week (if I want them to) with other kids doing the distance education program. They get to have a classroom experience, and the valuable experience of being taught by a different teacher. Furthermore, what they learn about at school stays there! I don’t need to worry about homework, or carrying on my part of a specific curriculum at home. What is taught at school is self contained so we can get on with the curriculums we’ve chosen for our family. I’ve loved Canyon Groves curriculum library! They have tons of different curriculum options, as well as other resources! We currently have a rock tumbler that we’ve borrowed, as well as a couple Lego Knex building sets. I’m looking forward to the dissection kits they have available when my kids are a bit older. As for curriculum, at times they haven’t carried, or possibly even heard of, what I’m looking for. They’ve been very willing to look into what I’ve been interested in and see if they can make it work. So far, they’ve been able to help me out. They can’t do any religious based curriculum, as this is a government funded school, but that’s been fine. I love that my tax dollars are actually working for my kids. Homeschooling can be expensive, and this school has helped me out a ton! Mind you, I’ve had one time where a request fell through the cracks and I didn’t get what I needed at the expected time, but human error happens! I feel that their system has become more and more efficient, and that they sincerely appreciate feedback. On top of the optional one day of school per week, they also have what’s called Discovery Day. For three or four weeks, one afternoon per week, you can sign your kids up to participate in a class. It could be bowling, painting, leather working, acting, coding, ice skating, kayaking, etc. They’ve done tons of different stuff. My kids have loved the ones we’ve opted to do, and I’ve truly appreciated that this hasn’t been required. Sometimes life has been too busy, and we haven’t been up for it, or it hasn’t been something we’re interested in. Wow, I’ve rambled on! To sum up, Canyon Grove has been great. I’ve loved the support I’ve gotten from them, and that I’m still being given the freedom to choose what I want and what works for my family.

Casey Smith

Canyon Grove Distance Education is wonderful! For those families who want the flexibility homeschooling offers with the educational support, fun outings, and activities you may not have time to offer your children this hybrid system is an excellent option! Class is once a week with an option to sign up for fun outings (Discovery Days) once a week as well. Discovery Days change every month to make things new and exciting for the kids to experience. In the past such outings have included: ice skating, indoor rock climbing, snow shoeing, indoor trampolines, book binding, martial arts, Discovery Space Center, programing, and more!

Ruth Lowe

I absolutely LOVE Canyon Grove! The distance education program is wonderful. I’ve homeschooled for years and this is the best of both worlds. The kids go for one day a week and do the rest from home. They can participate in a school play and many other fun activities. You get support and you have tons of choices for curriculum. The resource library is heavenly, filled with curriculum, science activities, foreign language programs, art activities, anything you could want to make school at home fun and engaging.The staff is amazing, the director Kim really cares about the families. I wish that there had been a school like this when my oldest was younger. I felt like I struck the gold mine when I found Canyon Grove 2 years ago and the school just keeps getting better and better each year!

Sarah Millward

This is my second year homeschooling and 1st year at Canyon Grove Academy! We LOVE CGA!!! It offers the perfect program for our needs offering a full day of education at a local campus and a day of discovery- where my daughter can learn from other teachers and interact with her peers sometimes while rock climbing, cooking, snow shoeing, kayaking or crafting!! My daughter thrives with a one on one education at home the rest of the week (music, swim, theater we supplement) where all the curriculum we choose has been provided by CGA. They offer education specialists to work with you throughout the year. They also offer several online programs which we choose to supplement with. My daughter is happy, educated and socialized. She has made great friends this year. CGA is a school/program I plan to stick with and I’m grateful we found them. Thank you CGA!

Nina F

I’m so glad to have found Canyon Grove distance education. We have been with them from the start and even though there have been some changes and speed bumps, it is what I expect of a totally new concept and educational system. Canyon Grove has succeeded in delivering their vision where so many other schools I have been following have failed. I am a hard-core homeschool purist and was wary at first but my kids absolutely love the once a week onsite class and the extra curricular “discovery days” are amazing and very valuable to me. The resource library is really great and helpful although I will admit that I don’t use it as much as I would like to. I also love the online resources that Canyon Grove offers, my kids use them everyday. My favorite thing about the resource library is being able to borrow the high quality expensive items that I would be reluctant to come out of pocket for, such as telescopes, microscopes, rock tumblers, etc. etc field trips have been really fun and it’s been so nice getting to do various activities for free or for a heavy discount. Our Educational Specialist is always eager and ready to help me with any struggles we may be facing or (which I value) isn’t in my face if I don’t need anything. I’m putting my third child into canyongrove next year and I’m excited for them to be able to go together.

Micki C
Canyon Grove Distance Education has been amazing! It is the perfect fit for homeschooling while still experiencing a classroom and social setting. My kids don’t want school to end when summer comes around.
Breanne WolvertonGoogle Review
Follow by Email